top of page

Bonus Musing: Freshly Recruited: Nature Abides

I meant to discuss this poem when I discussed my poem Nature Is because it is a short one that has similar themes. The title itself, Freshly Recruited: Nature Abides is all about death and the inability to escape it. The "Freshly Recruited" are the people who are and have been "freshly recruited" into the realm of death. I talk about an "old wise council that has witnessed everything", these are trees in the graveyard. I wrote this poem not too long after the death of my grandfather, it was the first real big death that impacted my life totally. My grandfather was the best man I ever knew and I miss him very much. When writing this poem I was picturing my hometown cemetary and the beautiful trees that surround the entire cemetery. I was trying to make a commentary on how nature is greater than man, nature is longer lasting. Now I even imagine the trees at my house that have witnessed my best moments and my worst. I absolutely love themes of nature if you can't tell. In Freshly Recruited: Nature Abides I contrast bluebirds, which are known for being bright and cheerful, and ravens, which are known for being dark and grim. The bluebirds are life, the ravens are death. I don't mean to sound gloomy, but to be perfectly honest life with chronic illness is often times gloomy and depressing. I wanted to share this short description but I didn't feel it was quite adequete enough to be a part of my normal "Monday Musings". I hope you enjoyed!

Pictures taken by Callie Carlyle.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page