top of page

Monday Musings: "Brain Fog"

If you know me you have heard me talk about having "brain fog", this is something that happens to me more often than I would like. It prevents me from thinking clearly, it prevents me from articulating myself in any sort of sophisticated manner. One day I was playing board games with my family and I had to halt our game because of bad brain fog. I don't know why but this event in particular really bothered me, so I wrote a poem about it. Below is my poem aptly titled "Brain Fog". I also painted a picture and added the poem on a piece of velum to signify the fogginess with a double layer of velum on the last lines of the poem to amplify that effect. I used shades of blue to signify the despair I feel when I am experiencing it. I will add that below as well.

Brain Fog

By: Heather Danielle Ashley

A thick layer envelops me

a mist that only I can see.

To me inside, I know the way out

but you can't hear me even if I shout.

You can see me perfectly clear

but it is so dimly lit over here.

Bear with me as I find my ground

I am not lost but am nowhere to be found.

I hate this thick shroud that swallows my wits

I have all the pieces, but none this puzzle fits.

I want to brutally punch my way past this wall

I am swallowed whole, to this giant I am so small.

I feel so numb, my mind is stuck on pause

everything I do becomes a lost cause.

I experience reality through a novocaine coating,

my thoughts are left so cruelly floating.

I know what to say, yet I forget how to speak aloud

I know exactly what I'm talking about being

this wit dimming

thought numbing

cloud.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page