top of page

Chronic Illness Playlist: "O.K. Fine" by Clover the Girl

It has been awhile since I've added to the chronic illness playlist. I added the song "O.K. Fine" by Clover the Girl today. The lyrics "if anybody asks yeah I'm ok, if anybody asks I'm fine" encapsulates the feeling when anyone asks me how I am doing. It is my automatic instinct to say "I'm doing ok, I'm doing fine" even if I am not. I know that I am not alone in this, that nearly everyone I have encountered with a chronic illness does this. We do it because it is a lot easier than telling the ugly truth of what we are really feeling. Most of the time people are expecting that simple answer, they ask to be nice, but they don't really want to hear the real details.

I posted the lyrics below, I think in general they relate to what having a chronic illness feels like.

O.K. Fine by Clover the Girl

"I, I'm not sleeping, no Nightmares wanna keep me up Oh I, cannot seem to find My off switch when I need it most My days yeah they're cold and long Singing songs til I get to the other side Where the wrong things feel right Ooooooh, I'm burning the candle now at both ends I'm caught in the fire I tell them yes I'm okay I tell them yes I'm doin' fine Oh no it ain't so easy feelin' crazy all the time I tell them yes I'm okay I tell them yes I'm doin' fine Oh no it ain't so easy livin' when you've lost your mind If anybody asks yeah I'm okay If anybody asks I'm fine If anybody asks yeah I'm okay If anybody asks I'm fine Keep, keepin' my mouth closed Lips locked, hold my tongue, won't speak How deep all these symptoms flow So low but I'll make it through these nights Yeah they're short and worn Heavy hearts yeah they float in the shallow end Where the wild things make sense Ooooooh, I'm burning the candle now at both ends I'm caught in the fire I tell them yes I'm okay I tell them yes I'm doin' fine Oh no it ain't so easy feelin' crazy all the time I tell them yes I'm okay I tell them yes I'm doin' fine Oh no it ain't so easy livin' when you've lost your mind If anybody asks yeah I'm okay If anybody asks I'm fine If anybody asks yeah I'm okay If anybody asks I'm fine If anybody asks yeah I'm okay If anybody asks I'm fine If anybody asks yeah I'm okay If anybody asks I'm fine I'm burning the candle now at both ends I'm caught in the fire... I tell them yes I'm okay I tell them yes I'm doin' fine Oh no it ain't so easy feelin' crazy all the time I tell them yes I'm okay I tell them yes I'm doin' fine Oh no it ain't so easy livin' when you've lost your mind If anybody asks yeah I'm okay If anybody asks I'm fine If anybody asks yeah I'm okay If anybody asks I'm fine If anybody asks yeah I'm okay If anybody asks I'm fine If anybody asks yeah I'm okay If anybody asks I'm fine (Tell 'em I'm okay) Yeah I'm okay (Tell 'em I'm okay) I'm fine (Tell 'em I'm okay) Yeah I'm okay (Tell 'em I'm okay) I'm fine"

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page