top of page

Why I Write

I write often in some format or another, but the reason I write this blog in particular is what I am going to address. I started this blog as a way to expand and elaborate on the poetry in my book The Bright Side of Dark. I wanted to explain why I wrote those poems and how they pertained to my life with chronic illness. I started this blog to supplement my author website heatherdashley.com, but recently I have been writing many articles for the website www.themighty.com and that has got me thinking that I want to expand what this blog is to include a more complete view of my life and struggles rather than just focusing on my poetry. I will still write my "Monday Musing" blogs so I have the chance to explain my poetry a bit, but I will also write other posts about random topics that encompass my life with Ehlers Danlos/Chiari etc. I think this blog has been therapeutic for me and I hope through one of my posts somehow I have given you something good to take away.

For those of you who do not know what www.themighty.com is, it is an amazing website where hundreds of people with all sorts of medical problems write articles in order to enlighten the world to our struggle. The Mighty has been an amazing way for me to get my voice to a wider audience and to an audience of my fellow chronic illness sufferers. I have been so amazed to read other peoples articles because I find that their voice is my voice too, I am not alone in my struggles and that in itself is a great comfort.

I write, wherever and however because I feel an urge to share my thoughts with the world. I do not get out of the house much due to my medical problems so I am thankful that I live in a time where the internet exists and a time where everyone is so connected through technology. Writing is what I love to do, and as simple as that is, that is why I write.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page