top of page

Chronic Illness Playlist: Heathers' "Forget Me Knots"

Heathers is a great band from Ireland comprised of twin sisters Louise and Ellie Macnamara. I randomly happened upon them one day thanks to Spotify and fell in love (maybe because I am a Heather partly, in name not at all like the movie Heathers). They have many songs that would fit the bill for my chronic illness playlist but this week I chose their song "Forget Me Knots."

I listen to this song on days when I am particularly depressed or feel like no one will ever understand what I am going through because it has a great lyric they repeat over an upbeat sound. That lyric is "It's alright not to feel okay". I often feel like I have to put on an act everywhere I go, I have to pretend I feel better than I do. I often forget that it's alright not to feel okay, that I don't have to be the happy, positive person all the time.

When I am feeling sad about my situation I often feel like I shouldn't be feeling that way, but that isn't the case at all. It is perfectly fine to be sad about my situation, I think anyone would be. I blast this song on days when I need a reminder and sing as loud as I can "its alright not to feel okay!", this actually helps me feel a bit better, I think especially since it is a pop/rock upbeat sound that I am singing along to.

Another lyric they repeat a few times is simply the words "don't fall." When I hear these words it is a reminder to me that I shouldn't let this situation I am in or how I am currently feeling bring me down forever, I shouldn't fall, I should stand tall and face the world.

I would also like to point out the lyrics "Some people tell you that you just need to get up and grow up...some people just don't understand what if feels like to fall." When I hear these words it makes me realize that I shouldn't be angry or upset that people don't understand what I am going through, instead, even though it is hard, I should be happy for them because it just means they have never known what it feels like to be in a situation like mine. I should just forget about all of those people because how in the world would they even begin to understand what I am going through if they have never gone through it themselves.

So the message I take out of "Forget Me Knots" is that I don't have to feel bad about being depressed and that I should ignore any harsh or ignorant words thrown my way and not let that bring me down. It is alright not to feel okay.

Here are the lyrics:

Forget Me Knots by Heathers

They told me that when I was younger Lying leaves you blind and don't leave anyone behind And all those things that make you stronger Will have you lying on the floor think you can't take it anymore It's alright not to feel okay (x2) They told me that when I get older That there'll be less time to prepare and room for someone to compare And now the ache is getting colder And I can see it in your face No wish to settle in this place It's alright not to feel okay (x2) And I promise I'm here when you need me Some people tell you that you just need to get up and grow up Forget it forgive what you're hearing Some people just don't understand what it feels like to fall So don't fall (x4) They told me that when I was younger Lying leaves you blind and don't leave anyone behind And don't lose sight of what's to live for Because there's truth in what they say It's alright not to feel okay It's alright not to feel okay (x6)

Be sure to check out my past "chronic illness playlist" posts and click on the tab "chronic illness playlist" on the home page to listen to this song and all the songs on my ever expanding playlist.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page