top of page

Chronic Illness Playlist: Murder By Death's "Solitary One"

This week I am adding the song "Solitary One" by the band Murder By Death. For a long time I didn't want to be alone, my chronic illness forced this upon me. Over the years I have become more drawn into myself to the point where I now much prefer being alone doing my own thing. I don't dislike socializing with people, but for me it is a hassle trying to keep up the appearance of feeling good when I feel horrible, it takes so much energy and I try to hard to hide that from people that I would rather be alone where I can be my true self and do things at my own pace without someone pointing it out (whether it be verbally or through their actions). I am a solitary one, I am someone who has a ton of books I read everyday and different shows I binge watch constantly. I am one who stays inside because being in the outside world is too taxing on me physically, mentally, and emotionally. I need people, we all do, I just prefer them in smaller doses. I am the solitary one who will just keep on doing what I am doing, carrying on and moving forward the only way I know how.

Here are the lyrics:

Solitary One by Murder By Death

Never let on the ghosts all around you Were directing you To your end To your peace To your release Sadness fills the air Now your tenure is done Oh you're a solitary one Oh solitary one Your sisters beg you Come outside and have some fun You're locked up inside My solitary one Gardens full of aching trees Shaking leaves Wither and retreat Oh you're a solitary one Oh solitary one You've got your books You've got your shows But who you really are Nobody knows You just carry on 'til you're gone Oh you're a solitary one Oh solitary one The wolves are in the yard rolling 'round in the sun You're locked up inside my solitary one

Listen to this song by clicking on the "chronic illness playlist" tab on the right side of the home page. Be sure to check out all of the past songs I have added to the playlist.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page